Microsoft Visio IA survey

Visio 2003

I got this news in my email today from the Information Architecture Institute.

The Microsoft Visio product team is looking for input from those involved in information architecture about how you use Visio in your work. I thought that some folks here might appreciate being able to give their tuppence-worth.

You are invited to participate in a short survey (3-5 minutes) that will help improve future Visio versions for creating user experience documents!

If you:

  • create UI mockups, wireframes in your job,
  • design user flows,
  • use Visio for creating your user experience documents

The Visio product team wants to hear from you!

Participate in this short survey (3-5 minutes)

Feel free to forward this invitation to anyone who would be interested in this survey and help shape future versions of Visio.

I’ve been using Visio 2003 for the last 3-4 years mostly for designing basic wireframes, user-interfaces, process flowcharts and very occasionally (isometric) sitemaps.

Jesse James Garrett has a number of useful resources on his website: visual vocabulary for information architecture including a number of downloadable shape libraries for various applications (including Visio, InDesign, FreeHand, and OpenOffice).
The majority of my wireframe and design work I do in Microsoft Publisher, though, which I find quicker and more versatile. I’d be interested to learn what others use.

3 thoughts on “Microsoft Visio IA survey

  1. Comment mentions “The majority of my wireframe and design work I do in Microsoft Publisher, though, which I find quicker and more versatile.”
    Can you please elborate this point so that i can know the FEATURES provided by Microsoft Publisher for wireframing and it’s comparision to other wireframes software.

    Thanks
    Ganesh

  2. When I first started using Microsoft Publisher for wireframes it was simply because I couldn’t afford Microsoft Visio

    As a desktop publishing tool Publisher has the versatility that I need for quickly developing wireframes. It allows me to quickly and easily draw boxes, lines, circles and align and fill/shade them as appropriate. Its text-handling is good and, I think, in some ways easier and more intuitive than that in Visio.

    For custom elements, such as drop-down boxes, I tend to either copy them from Visio or custom build them in HTML and copy them into Publisher as an image.

    Also, when it comes to moving from wireframe to design I find that I could also do much of the design work in Publisher too, building on what I’ve already created.

    For wireframing and interface design, something else that I’ve played about with is creating a batch of specific interface elements, such as drop downs, buttons, input boxes, etc. and printing them onto magnetic paper. You can then move things around on the side of your filing cabinet or magnetic whiteboard to explore different layout options.

Leave a Reply

